NHL schedule released; B's to open Saturday at home vs. Rangers

840305.jpg

NHL schedule released; B's to open Saturday at home vs. Rangers

The NHL -- at last -- released its 2012-13 schedule late Saturday night and, as expected, the Bruins will open at home next Saturday night, Jan. 19, against the Rangers. That game will be followed by a 1 p.m. matinee against the Jets on Martin Luther King Day, Jan. 21.

The full 48-game schedule will take place over the course of 96 days, from Saturday, Jan. 19 through Saturday, April 27. The Bruins will play five games each against their Northeast Division rival Senators and Sabres, and and four games each against the Maple Leafs and Canadiens. They will also play three games against each of the Atlantic and Southeast Division teams.

There had been much public speculation that teams would play seven games against each of their division rivals and one game each against all other teams in their conference, but that proved not to be the case. However, teams will play no out-of-conference games, as had also been speculated.

The complete Bruins' schedule:

Saturday, January 19 -- N.Y. Rangers, 7 p.m.
Monday, January 21 -- Winnipeg, 1 p.m.
Wednesday, January 23 -- at N.Y. Rangers, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, January 25 -- N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.
Monday, January 28 -- at Carolina, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, January 29 -- New Jersey, 7 p.m.
Thursday, January 31 -- Buffalo, 7 p.m.

Saturday, February 2 -- at Toronto, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, February 6 -- at Montreal, 7 p.m.
Saturday, February 9 -- Tampa Bay, 1 p.m.
Sunday, February 10 -- at Buffalo, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, February 12 -- N.Y. Rangers, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, February 15 -- at Buffalo, 7 p.m.
Sunday, February 17 -- at Winnipeg, 2 p.m.
Thursday, February 21 -- at Tampa Bay, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 24 -- at Florida, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, February 26 -- at N.Y. Islanders, 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, February 28 -- Ottawa, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 2 -- Tampa Bay, 1 p.m.
Sunday, March 3 -- Montreal, 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 5 -- at Washington, 7 p.m.
Thursday, March 7 -- Toronto, 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 9 -- Philadelphia, 1 p.m.
Monday, March 11 -- at Ottawa, 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 12 -- at Pittsburgh, 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 14 -- Florida, 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 16 -- Washington, 1 p.m.
Sunday, March 17 -- at Pittsburgh, 12:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 19 -- at Winnipeg, 7 p.m.
Thursday, March 21 -- at Ottawa, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 23 -- at Toronto, 7 p.m.
Monday, March 25 -- Toronto, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, March 27 -- Montreal, 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 30 -- at Philadelphia, 1 p.m.
Sunday, March 31 -- at Buffalo, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, April 2 -- Ottawa, 7 p.m.
Thursday, April 4 -- New Jersey, 7 p.m.
Saturday, April 6 -- at Montreal, 7 p.m.
Monday, April 8 -- Carolina, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, April 10 -- at New Jersey, 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 11 -- N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.
Saturday, April 13 -- at Carolina, 7 p.m.
Monday, April 15 -- Ottawa, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, April 17 -- Buffalo, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, April 19 -- Pittsburgh, 7 p.m.
Sunday, April 21 -- Florida, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 23 -- at Philadelphia, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 27 -- at Washington, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 22: Talking Bruins with Ray Ferraro

Wednesday, Feb. 22: Talking Bruins with Ray Ferraro

Here are all the links from around the hockey world, and what I’m reading, while getting ready for the February heat wave headed our way.

*In the interest of self-promotion, here’s a podcast I did on Tuesday talking Bruins with former Hartford Whalers great and current outstanding TSN hockey analyst Ray Ferraro, who is also a great FOH (Friend of Haggs).

*Good piece on a Hockey Night in Canada broadcaster that has already gained plenty of internet plaudits for his great, and now legendary, Nick Bonino goal call in last year’s Stanley Cup playoffs.

*It’s never too early to look at this summer’s crop of NHL draft-eligible players. Right, Kevin Allen?

*Apparently Toronto Maple Leafs rookie Auston Matthews has his own rap song, so he’s got that going for him…which is nice.

*FOH (Friend of Haggs) and PHT writer Jason Brough has James Wisniewski trying to revive his NHL career after a short stint in the KHL.

*There’s a call for Nashville backup Juuse Saros to get more playing time between the pipes for the Predators.

*Larry Brooks brings his always interesting take to the Bruins situation in allowing Claude Julien to take the head gig in Montreal, and said it all came down to money. Big surprise there. I think there was also a concern from the B’s about having another PR nightmare on their hands if it was perceived that they stepped in and didn’t allow Julien to gain employment someplace else, regardless of what waited for him in the offseason. It also tells me that the Bruins aren’t afraid of Julien coaching their arch-rivals, which makes perfect sense since they just fired him.

*For something completely different: the image of Woody Harrelson in the Falcon cockpit is both jarring and super awesome.

 

Five reasons standing pat may be Celtics' best move

jimmy-butler-paul-george.jpg

Five reasons standing pat may be Celtics' best move

Click here for the gallery.