Revs release 2011 regular-season schedule

Revs release 2011 regular-season schedule

FOXBORO The New England Revolution on Thursday released their complete 2011 regular-season schedule, which begins Sunday, March 20 in Los Angeles and ends on Saturday, October 22 in Toronto.

The Revs' home opener, the date of which was already released, is Saturday, March 26 against D.C. United.

All but one of the games will be televised on Comcast SportsNet New England.

Among the other schedule highlights:

Defending MLS Cup champion Colorado will travel to Foxboro on Saturday, May 7.

The leagues newest clubs will come to Gillette Stadium this year. Portland comes to Foxboro on Saturday, April 2, and Vancouver will be here on Saturday, May 14.

Los Angeles makes its annual venture to the Boston area for Memorial Day weekend, facing the Revs on Saturday, May 28.

The Revolution will have one match July 4 at Real Salt Lake - broadcast nationally on ESPN2, while the teams 33 other matches are scheduled to be broadcast by Comcast SportsNet New England. Additionally, three matches will also be televised in Spanish on Galavision: March 20 at Los Angeles, May 28 against Los Angeles, August 28 at Philadelphia.

The schedule (all times Eastern):

DATEOPPONENT
TIME
TV
Sunday, March 20
at L.A. Galaxy
8 p.m.
CSNGalavision
Saturday, March 26
D.C. United
4:30 p.m.
CSNSaturday, April 2
Portland
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Wednesday, April 6
at Vancouver
10 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, April 9
Real Salt Lake
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Sunday, April 17
at Houston
7 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, April 23
Sporting K.C.
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, April 30
at Chivas USA
10:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, May 7
Colorado
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, May 14
Vancouver
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, May 21
at San Jose
10:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, May 28
L.A. Galaxy
8 p.m.
CSNGalavision
Saturday, June 4
at FC Dallas
8:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, June 11
at N.Y. Red Bulls
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Wednesday, June 15
Toronto FC
8 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, June 18
Chicago Fire
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Sunday, June 26
at Seattle
4 p.m.
CSN
Monday, July 4
at Real Salt Lake
8:30 p.m.
ESPN2
Saturday, July 16
Philadelphia
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Wednesday, July 20
at D.C. United
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, July 23
at Colorado
9 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, July 30
at Sporting K.C.
8:30 p.m.
CSN
Wednesday, Aug. 3
San Jose
8 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Aug. 6
Chivas USA
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Aug. 13
at Columbus
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Wednesday, Aug. 17
Houston
8 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Aug. 20
N.Y. Red Bulls
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Sunday, Aug. 28
at Philadelphia
7 p.m.
CSNGalavision
Sunday, Sept. 11
FC Dallas
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Friday, Sept. 16
at Portland
10:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Sept. 25
at Chicago Fire
4 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Oct. 1
Seattle
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Oct. 15
Columbus
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Oct. 22
at Toronto
12:30 p.m.
CSN

Agudelo's two goals lead Revs past Minnesota 5-2 in home opener

new-england-revolution-juan-agudelo-32517.jpg

Agudelo's two goals lead Revs past Minnesota 5-2 in home opener

Juan Agudelo scored two goals to lead the Revolution to a 5-2 victory over Minnesota United in New England's home opener before 11,571 Saturday at Gillette Stadium in Foxboro.

Agudelo scored in the fourth and 41st minutes as the Revs - held to one goal in their first two games - picked up their first points of the season after opening with losses in Colorado and Dallas.

New England's original home opener, two weeks ago against Orlando, was postponed by cold weather. 

After Collen Warner's goal in the 15th minute tied it for expansion Minnesota, Kei Kamara (21st minute) and Lee Nguyen (penalty kick in the 32nd) made it 3-1 before Agudelo completed a four-goal outburst in the first half with his second goal of the game.

Nguyen's tally moved him into a tie with Steve Ralston for second place on the Revs career goals list with his 42nd. They trail Taylor Twellman (101).

Chris Tierney, playing in his 200th MLS game, all with the Revs, capped the scoring with a penalty-kick goal in the 52nd minute.

The Revs next play Sunday, April 2 on the road against the Portland Timbers.