Revs release 2011 regular-season schedule

Revs release 2011 regular-season schedule

FOXBORO The New England Revolution on Thursday released their complete 2011 regular-season schedule, which begins Sunday, March 20 in Los Angeles and ends on Saturday, October 22 in Toronto.

The Revs' home opener, the date of which was already released, is Saturday, March 26 against D.C. United.

All but one of the games will be televised on Comcast SportsNet New England.

Among the other schedule highlights:

Defending MLS Cup champion Colorado will travel to Foxboro on Saturday, May 7.

The leagues newest clubs will come to Gillette Stadium this year. Portland comes to Foxboro on Saturday, April 2, and Vancouver will be here on Saturday, May 14.

Los Angeles makes its annual venture to the Boston area for Memorial Day weekend, facing the Revs on Saturday, May 28.

The Revolution will have one match July 4 at Real Salt Lake - broadcast nationally on ESPN2, while the teams 33 other matches are scheduled to be broadcast by Comcast SportsNet New England. Additionally, three matches will also be televised in Spanish on Galavision: March 20 at Los Angeles, May 28 against Los Angeles, August 28 at Philadelphia.

The schedule (all times Eastern):

DATEOPPONENT
TIME
TV
Sunday, March 20
at L.A. Galaxy
8 p.m.
CSNGalavision
Saturday, March 26
D.C. United
4:30 p.m.
CSNSaturday, April 2
Portland
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Wednesday, April 6
at Vancouver
10 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, April 9
Real Salt Lake
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Sunday, April 17
at Houston
7 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, April 23
Sporting K.C.
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, April 30
at Chivas USA
10:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, May 7
Colorado
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, May 14
Vancouver
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, May 21
at San Jose
10:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, May 28
L.A. Galaxy
8 p.m.
CSNGalavision
Saturday, June 4
at FC Dallas
8:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, June 11
at N.Y. Red Bulls
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Wednesday, June 15
Toronto FC
8 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, June 18
Chicago Fire
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Sunday, June 26
at Seattle
4 p.m.
CSN
Monday, July 4
at Real Salt Lake
8:30 p.m.
ESPN2
Saturday, July 16
Philadelphia
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Wednesday, July 20
at D.C. United
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, July 23
at Colorado
9 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, July 30
at Sporting K.C.
8:30 p.m.
CSN
Wednesday, Aug. 3
San Jose
8 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Aug. 6
Chivas USA
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Aug. 13
at Columbus
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Wednesday, Aug. 17
Houston
8 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Aug. 20
N.Y. Red Bulls
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Sunday, Aug. 28
at Philadelphia
7 p.m.
CSNGalavision
Sunday, Sept. 11
FC Dallas
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Friday, Sept. 16
at Portland
10:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Sept. 25
at Chicago Fire
4 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Oct. 1
Seattle
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Oct. 15
Columbus
7:30 p.m.
CSN
Saturday, Oct. 22
at Toronto
12:30 p.m.
CSN

Drew Moor, Sebastian Giovinco score, Toronto FC beats Revolution, 2-0

Drew Moor, Sebastian Giovinco score, Toronto FC beats Revolution, 2-0

TORONTO - Drew Moor scored early and Sebastian Giovinco struck late and Toronto FC overcame a tight schedule turnaround to beat the New England Revolution 2-0 on Friday night.

Toronto was coming off a 1-1 tie Wednesday night in Montreal in the first leg of the Canadian Championship final. The Revs had been off since a 2-1 home loss to Chicago on Saturday.

Moor's 11th-minute goal looked to be enough, with Toronto goalkeeper Alex Bono preserving the win with a save on Teal Bunbury's header in the 88th minute. But Giovinco added an insurance goal deep into stoppage time, bringing down a high ball before beating a defender and banging a left-footed shot home for his 50th goal in MLS regular-season and playoff action.

MLS leading Toronto (10-2-5) has won seven straight at home. New England (5-7-5) is 0-6-3 on the road.

Nikolic, Solignac score in Fire's 2-1 win over Revolution

ap_17169030680599.jpg

Nikolic, Solignac score in Fire's 2-1 win over Revolution

Nemanja Nikolic and Luis Solignac scored and the Chicago Fire handed the New England Revolution their first home loss of the season, 2-1 on Saturday night.

Nikolic scored his MLS-leading 13th goal in the 18th minute, beating an offside trap and, after having his initial shot blocked by goalie Cody Cropper, firing in the rebound.

Three quick passes found Solignac in front of the goal as he finished from close range in the 61st for his fourth goal.

New England scored in the 70th when Juan Agudelo kept the ball alive with a header off a cross with Antonio Mlinar Delamea then heading in the ball for his first MLS goal.

New England, which outshot Chicago 24-8, spent the remaining minutes on the attack but failed to get the equalizer despite several frantic moments in front of Chicago's net.

New England (5-6-5) had five wins and two draws at home before the loss. Chicago (9-3-4) is unbeaten in eight matches.