Revolution announces preseason schedule

Revolution announces preseason schedule

The New England Revolution have announced thattheir preseason training camp will open on Monday, January 31. The six-week training schedule will consist of two out-of-town trainingsessions in Orlando and Atlanta. The Revolution will have several matches during the trip to Orlando, but thosedetails will be announced at a later date. The complete preseason schedule will be as follows:- Monday, January 31: Players report to preseason camp. (Entrance physicals and training)
- Monday, January, 31 Friday, February 18: Local training (Dana-Farber Field House, Gillette Stadium, Foxborough, Mass.)
- Monday, February 14 Thursday, February 24: Training in Orlando, Fla.
- Monday, February 28 Wednesday, March 2: Local training (Dana-Farber Field House, Gillette Stadium, Foxborough, Mass.)
- Thursday, March 3 Sunday, March 13: Training in Kennesaw, Ga.
- Sunday, March 6: vs. Columbus Crew (Finley Stadium, Chattanooga, TN.), 4 p.m. ET
- Atlanta MLS Challenge (Kennesaw State Soccer Stadium, Kennesaw, Ga.)
- Wednesday, March 9: vs. Columbus Crew (Kennesaw, Ga.), 7:30 p.m. ET
- Friday, March 11: Columbus Crew vs. Houston Dynamo (Kennesaw, Ga.), 7:30 p.m. ET
- Sunday, March, 13: vs. Houston Dynamo (Kennesaw, Ga.), 2 p.m. ET
- Monday, March 14: OFF
-Tuesday, March 15: Regular-season training schedule begins
- Wednesday, March 16: Revolution Media Day
- Friday, March 18: Depart for Los Angeles
- Saturday, March 19: Training in Carson, Calif.
- Sunday, March 20: 2011 seaon opener at LA Galaxy (Carson, Calif.), 8 p.m. ET

Agudelo's two goals lead Revs past Minnesota 5-2 in home opener

new-england-revolution-juan-agudelo-32517.jpg

Agudelo's two goals lead Revs past Minnesota 5-2 in home opener

Juan Agudelo scored two goals to lead the Revolution to a 5-2 victory over Minnesota United in New England's home opener before 11,571 Saturday at Gillette Stadium in Foxboro.

Agudelo scored in the fourth and 41st minutes as the Revs - held to one goal in their first two games - picked up their first points of the season after opening with losses in Colorado and Dallas.

New England's original home opener, two weeks ago against Orlando, was postponed by cold weather. 

After Collen Warner's goal in the 15th minute tied it for expansion Minnesota, Kei Kamara (21st minute) and Lee Nguyen (penalty kick in the 32nd) made it 3-1 before Agudelo completed a four-goal outburst in the first half with his second goal of the game.

Nguyen's tally moved him into a tie with Steve Ralston for second place on the Revs career goals list with his 42nd. They trail Taylor Twellman (101).

Chris Tierney, playing in his 200th MLS game, all with the Revs, capped the scoring with a penalty-kick goal in the 52nd minute.

The Revs next play Sunday, April 2 on the road against the Portland Timbers.