Felger: 'I would take anyone in the NHL over KG in a fight'


Felger: 'I would take anyone in the NHL over KG in a fight'

Who would win in a fight, Kevin Garnett or Zdeno Chara?

Felger, Mazz, and Marc Bertrand discuss the topic after a Twitter remark sparks the debate.  Felger made it clear that Chara isn't the only NHL player he would take over Garnett in a fight.

"I would take, almost literally, anyone in the NHL over Kevin Garnett.  For one simple reason.  When was the last time Kevin Garnett got hit in the face?" argued Michael Felger. "Anyone who fights for a living, or is used to getting hit, is going to take down the guy who has never been hit.  It's just a truism, I don't care how big you are."

Felger brings up a conversation he had with Shawn Thornton about who he wouldn't want to fight in the NHL.  Even he doesn't want to fight Chara.

"No one wants to go against 6'7" 270," continued Felger. "No one wants to fight Zdeno Chara in the National Hockey League, never mind the NBA with their slapping fights."

Clayborn beats out Seymour, Vrabel to enter Patriots Hall of Fame


Clayborn beats out Seymour, Vrabel to enter Patriots Hall of Fame

Raymond Clayborn has been voted into the Patriots Hall of Fame, beating out both Mike Vrabel and Richard Seymour for the honor. The corner, who is tied for the franchise record for interceptions with Ty Law (36), will be the 26th person inducted to the Hall. 

Clayborn was a three-time Pro Bowler (1983, 1985, 1986) during his 13-year Patriots career from 1977 through 1989. He was drafted by the Patriots in the first round (16th overall) out of Texas in 1977, and chipped in both in the secondary and as a kick returner. As a rookie in the return game, he averaged 31 yards per return and brought back three for touchdowns. 

Clayborn reacted to the news on Twitter soon after the announcement was made. 

"I was fortunate to be a season ticket holder during Raymond's entire Patriots career," Patriots Chairman and CEO Robert Kraft said in a statement. "For the first half of his career, he teamed with Michael Haynes to form one of the best corner tandems in league history. Throughout his career, Raymond was a physical, shutdown corner.

"One of my favorite memories was watching the 1985 team advance to the Super Bowl after Raymond helped us break the Orange Bowl curse when he stymied future Hall of Fame quarterback Dan Marino with a dominant performance against Pro Bowl receivers Mark Duper and Mark Clayton. Raymond had six passes defensed and an interception to help us claim our first conference title. It was the greatest upset victory in franchise history at the time and one the entire New England region celebrated. It is a well-deserved honor and I look forward to presenting him his hall of fame jacket."

Clayborn has been a finalist for each of the last four years but was not able to generate enough support in the annual online vote to beat out Ty Law (2014 inductee), Willie McGinest (2015) or Kevin Faulk (2016). Clayborn was eligible to be voted in by the senior committee since he's now been retired for 25 years, but he did not receive the requisite eight of 10 senior committee votes to be elected in that way. 

As it turns out, he didn't need to be. When Kraft called Clayborn with the news, he said Clayborn received over 40 percent of the vote to beat out the pair of three-time Super Bowl champs.