Rays rally past Sox, 5-3


Rays rally past Sox, 5-3

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. -- On Friday night, the bullpen saved the Red Sox. On Saturday night, it did them in.

Matt Albers walked in the tying run and allowed the go-ahead run on a sacrifice fly and Andrew Miller allowed a solo homer an inning later as the Red Sox fell to the Tampa Bay Rays, 5-3.

The Rays managed just five hits, but some walks, a Red Sox error and two sacrifice flies resulted in their five runs.

The Sox led 3-2 in the seventh when starter Clay Buchholz put the first two Rays on base, followed by a sacrifice bunt which moved both baserunners over. After an intentional walk to load the bases, Albers walked light-hitting Jose Lobaton (.222), forcing in one run. A sacrifice fly to deep center from Elliot Johnson gave the Rays the lead for good.

B.J. Upton then added an insurance run with a solo homer in the eighth off Andrew Miller.

Buchholz pitched well in his first start in nearly a month, racking up eight strikeouts with just one walk in 6 13 innings.

Will Middlebrooks smoked his 11th homer of the year off David Price in the fourth to give the Sox a 2-1 lead.

The other Red Sox run came in the sixth when Cody Ross bluffed a steal of home, drawing an errant throw from Price and enabling him to score.

A costly error by Mike Aviles -- his second in as many nights - gave the Rays a run in the fifth.

Bradley, Betts, Pedroia are A.L. Gold Glove finalists


Bradley, Betts, Pedroia are A.L. Gold Glove finalists

Jackie Bradley Jr. in center field, Mookie Betts in right and Dustin Pedroia at second base are the Red Sox' finalists for the American League Gold Glove awards.

The Blue Jays’ Kevin Pillar and the Rays’ Kevin Kiermaier are the other A.L. center field finalists. The White Sox’ Adam Eaton and Astros’ George Springer are A.L. right field finalists. Joining Pedroia as second base finalists are the Mariners’ Robinson Cano and Tigers’ Ian Kinsler.

Peoria has won four Gold Gloves. Bradley and Betts have yet to win one.

The full list of finalists is here.  The awards will be presented on Nov. 8 at 8 p.m. on ESPN

The Red Sox sent out a series of tweets backing each player’s candidacy.

Betts is also a front-runner for the American League Most Valuable Player.


Ortiz wins Hank Aaron Award as top hitter in American League


Ortiz wins Hank Aaron Award as top hitter in American League

CLEVELAND -- David Ortiz is heading into retirement with some more hardware.

The Boston Red Sox slugger captured the Hank Aaron Award on Wednesday as the top hitter in the American League this season. Budding Chicago Cubs star Kris Bryant was honored as the top hitter in the National League.

The award was presented before Game 2 of the World Series between the Cubs and Cleveland. It was determined through a combination of fan voting and a panel that includes Aaron and other Hall of Fame players.

The 40-year-old Ortiz hit .315 with 38 home runs, 127 RBIs and 48 doubles in the 20th and final season of his major league career. His 541 career home runs rank 17th all-time.

The 24-year-old Bryant hit .292 with 39 home runs and 102 RBIs while helping the Cubs cruise to the NL Central title and eventually a spot in the World Series. Shortly after being honored, Bryant singled in the first inning for his first Series hit.