Nava, Farrell say ump blew 'catch' call

Nava, Farrell say ump blew 'catch' call
June 23, 2013, 9:30 pm
Share This Post

DETROIT -- As if the Red Sox didn't make enough mistakes of their own Sunday in their 7-5 loss to the Tigers, they got some unwanted help from the umpires.
     
Leading off the eighth inning, Detroit outfielder Avisail Garcia hit a fly ball to the warning track in right. Daniel Nava, backtracking on the ball, turned around and gloved the ball waist-high.
     
As he went to take the ball out of the glove to throw the ball back into the infield, the ball fell to the ground and second base umpire Mike DiMuro ruled Nava no catch and awarded Garcia second  base.
     
That led to a three-run inning for the Tigers, snapping what had been a 4-4 tie.
     
"Clearly, the call was missed,'' said John Farrell. "[Nava] caught  it, he went to transfer it to his throwing hand and dropped it at that point. It wasn't like it was an instantaneous movement -- he caught it,  took it to his left hip to throw the ball back in, he drops it.''
     
Farrell went out to argue the call, and Nava raced in from right field to plead his case.
     
"It was secure,'' claimed Nava. "I was going from the catch to get it to throw it in and I didn't get it from [the glove] to [his throwing hand] like I wanted to obviously or else the play wouldn't have happened.
     
"But I knew that I caught it and I knew that it was the bottom of the eighth. First guy up is on second base and that's a big play and I wanted to make our case that only did I think I caught it, but I knew I caught it. Obviously, it didn't matter.''
     
DiMuro made the call, even though it should have been made by first-base umpire Scott Barry, who apparently turned his back on the play as  he saw the ball enter Nava's glove.
     
Farrell went out and argued the call, and eventually, was given his first ejection of the season.
     
"Kind of surprising, seeing it from the dugout,'' said Farrell, who had asked DiMuro to ask for help from the other umpires, "[that] three other umpires didn't see it either. To a man, they had nothing different.''
     
"To have a catch,'' crew chief Ted Barrett to a pool reporter, "you have to have complete control and voluntary release. Mike [DiMuro] had him with  control, but did not have the voluntary release. When he flipped the ball out of his glove, he never got it into his hand. That's not voluntary release."
     
Barrett said DiMuro was within his right to make the call instead of Barry.
     
"With no one on base, that is certainly his jurisdiction,'' said Barrett.
    
Barrett added that he had viewed a replay of the play and stood by Dimuro's call.
     
"He never got the ball into his hand,'' said Barrett. "Therefore there  was no voluntary release and no catch."
     
"Whether or not that has an effect on the outcome of the game,'' said Farrell, "it certainly changed the [complexion] of the eighth inning and we end up in a situation that we also contributed to. But we're in a much different situation with one out and nobody on base.''