Report: NFL admits Jets got away with penalty

Report: NFL admits Jets got away with penalty
October 27, 2013, 11:45 am
Share This Post

Chris Jones learned a new NFL rule the hard way. Turns out the Jets should have been called for a similar penalty earlier in the game.


In a videotape issued to the NFL's head coaches this week, the league admitted that both the Jets and Patriots were guilty of push penalties in last week's 30-27 win by the Jets.

Of course, only the violation called in overtime on Patriots defensive lineman Chris Jones was penalized. ESPN's Adam Schefter tweeted on Sunday that the league admitted to missing the Jets perform a similarly illegal maneuver.


When Patriots kicker Stephen Gostkowski lined up a potentially game-tying 44-yard field goal at the end of regulation, it appeared as though one member of the Jets pushed a teammate into the Patriots line in order to try to block the kick.

With officials keeping a closer eye on those types of penalties, and with so much attention being paid to last week's ruling over the course of this past week, expect the "push" tactic to be all but eradicated in games this weekend.