Ainge finishes 7th in NBA's Executive of the Year award

Ainge finishes 7th in NBA's Executive of the Year award
May 7, 2014, 12:45 pm
Share This Post
(AP Photo)

BOSTON  — San Antonio's R.C. Buford was named this year's Executive of the Year in the NBA, but those with ties to the Boston Celtics were among the top vote-getters.

An award voted upon by fellow NBA executives, Buford won the award with a total of 58 points which included nine first-place votes.

Having been with the Spurs for 23 years, it was Buford's first time winning the award and the third time overall for the Spurs franchise.

Runner-up for the award was Phoenix Suns GM Ryan McDonough, an assistant GM with the Celtics last season.

McDonough received five first-place votes, second only to Buford.

And Boston's current GM Danny Ainge, who won the award in 2008, finished a distant seventh with a total of 13 points which included one first-place vote.

Others with Celtics connections among the 17 executives to receive votes include Houston's Daryl Morey (former Celtics executive), Indiana's Larry Bird (former Celtics player) and Los Angeles Clippers' Doc Rivers (former Celtics head coach).