Chara, Rask finish top 5 for Norris and Vezina

Chara, Rask finish top 5 for Norris and Vezina
June 15, 2013, 8:15 pm
Share This Post

CHICAGO – The NHL’s major awards were announced on Saturday prior to the start of Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Finals at the United Center, and the Bruins were shut out of all of the big individual trophies. Their best chance for a major award went by the boards on Friday when Jonathan Toews beat out Patrice Bergeron for the Selke Trophy as the NHL’s best defensive forward.  

Alex Ovechkin won the Hart Trophy, P.K. Subban won the Norris Trophy and Columbus Blue Jackets goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky captured the Vezina Trophy as the league’s best goaltender.

The Bruins did receive some votes in each of those categories, however. Former Norris Trophy winner Zdeno Chara finished fifth in the Norris Trophy voting while receiving 289 total points and 10 first place votes. Dennis Seidenberg also received a fourth place and fifth place vote in Norris Trophy consideration.

Patrice Bergeron was the only Bruins player to receive any votes for Hart Trophy as the league’s most valuable player, and it was a fourth place vote after turning in another Selke-worthy campaign for the Black and Gold.

Tuukka Rask also finished in fifth place for the Vezina Trophy voting, and received three second place and three third place votes after his breakout season as Boston’s No. 1 goaltender. Amazingly one of the NHL GMs, who vote for the award, gave a first place vote to Ray Emery as the backup goaltender for the Chicago Blackhawks. Rookie defenseman Dougie Hamilton finished 11th in Calder Trophy voting for the league’s most outstanding rookie, and lost out to Florida Panthers forward Jonathan Huberdeau. Hamilton received one second place vote, two third place votes and three fifth place votes to account for his place in the standings.