Bruins release six from rookie camp

Bruins release six from rookie camp
September 15, 2013, 8:00 pm
Share This Post

The Bruins won’t be making any NHL training camp cuts until the team has played the first two games of the preseason against the Montreal Canadiens and Washington Capitals on Monday and Tuesday respectively. But the B’s did have a few roster transactions on Sunday as they released a group of five players from amateur tryout contracts that participated in rookie camp, and returned one of their draft picks back to junior hockey.

Mickael Beauregard, Alex Cord, Jayden Hart, Jesse Lees, Massachusetts native Wayne Simpson and Maxime Villemaire were all released from their ATO/PTO contracts while the Providence Journal also reported that both Simpson and Cord were both expected to sign similar PTOs (Professional Try Out) with the Providence Bruins. Mitchell Dempsey was drafted by the Bruins in the seventh round of the 2013 NHL Entry Draft and also took place in rookie training camp, but was returned to his Sault Ste. Marie Greyhound junior hockey team.

As for the NHL training camp crew, Claude Julien indicated it would be mostly members of Group B that would be traveling to Montreal to face off against the Habs on Monday night at the Bell Centre.

“Right now we don’t have the full lineup, but it’ll be more of [Group B]. It will be players from that group there that’ll be going,” said Julien. “So obviously, we have too many guys, some won’t [play] and so we’ll just be kind of finalizing the roster.”

Group B includes the players listed below, and could include goalie Malcolm Subban in his first chance to suit up against older brother and Norris Trophy-winning defenseman P.K. Subban:

FORWARDS: Anthony Camara, Gregory Campbell, Craig Cunningham, Alex Fallstrom, Rob Flick, Matt Fraser, Jarome Iginla, Nick Johnson, David Krejci, Milan Lucic, Daniel Paille, Tyler Randell, Carl Söderberg, Ryan Spooner, Shawn Thornton

DEFENSEMEN: Matt Bartkowski, Zdeno Chara, Tommy Cross, Torey Krug, Adam McQuaid, Kevan Miller, Zach Trotman, Ben Youds

GOALTENDERS: Chad Johnson, Adam Morrison, Malcolm Subban