Bruins to play in 17 games on national TV in 2012-13

720246.jpg

Bruins to play in 17 games on national TV in 2012-13

The Bruins, as usual, will enjoy plenty of national TV exposure in the United States should the NHL season get started on time. The Black and Gold will have 17 games broadcast nationally in the US on NBC and the NBC Sports Network. Thirteen of those games will be exclusive, while the other four Bs games will also be televised locally on NESN.The Bruins, Penguins and Red Wings were tied for the most possible national appearances on the NBC Network family with the 17 possible games to be televised.

The biggest national game for the Bruins during the season will be the Nov. 23 Thanksgiving Showdown, a traditional Friday afternoon game on the day after Thanksgiving hosted in Boston. The Bs will take on the New York Rangers at 1 pm on Black Friday, and also have a Feb. 17 Saturday afternoon matinee against the Chicago Blackhawks penciled into the schedule. Three Bs games are also flex games on the schedule.

In addition the Bruins have their Oct. 11 Opening Night tilt against the Philadelphia Flyers on NBCSN. Ten other games and a Flex game against the Flyers on March 31 will also be on NBCSN.

Heres the full TV schedule for the Bruins with the caveat that many of the games could be cancelled by the looming NHL lockout if the league and players association cant come to a CBA agreement by Sept. 15:

Bruins Games Broadcast on NBC Sports Network (all times Eastern):
Thursday, October 11 at Philadelphia, 7:00 PM
Tuesday, November 27 vs. New Jersey, 7:00 PM (non-exclusive)
Monday, December 10 at Detroit, 7:30 PM (non-exclusive)
Wednesday, January 9 at Buffalo, 7:30 PM
Sunday, January 13 at New York Rangers, 7:30 PM
Tuesday, January 29 vs. St. Louis, 7:00 PM
Monday, February 4 at Colorado, 9:00 PM
Wednesday, February 6 vs. Buffalo, 7:30 PM
Monday, March 4 vs. Montreal, 7:30 PM (non-exclusive)
Wednesday, March 27 vs. Montreal, 7:30 PM
Wednesday, April 10 at New Jersey, 7:30 PM

Bruins Flex Game on NBC Sports Network (Eastern Time):
Sunday, March 31 at Philadelphia, 7:30 PM

Bruins Games Broadcast on NBC (all times Eastern):
Friday, November 23 vs. New York Rangers, 1:00 PM
Sunday, February 17 at Chicago, 3:30 PM

Bruins Flex Games on NBC (all times Eastern):
Sunday, March 10 at Washington, 7:30 PM
Sunday, March 17 at Pittsburgh, 7:30 PM
Saturday, April 13 at Buffalo, 7:30 PM (non-exclusive)

BRUINS 2012-13 REGULAR SEASON SCHEDULE (ALL TIMES ARE LOCAL)
OCTOBER
Thu. Oct. 11 At Philadelphia 7:00 PM (NBC Sports Network)
Sat. Oct. 13 At New Jersey 7:00 PM
Tue. Oct. 16 At Montreal 7:30 PM (TSN, RDS)
Thu. Oct. 18 Montreal 7:00 PM (RDS)
Sat. Oct. 20 Dallas 7:00 PM
Tue. Oct. 23 Carolina 7:00 PM
Thu. Oct. 25 Anaheim 7:00 PM
Sat. Oct. 27 N.Y. Islanders 7:00 PM
Tue. Oct. 30 Buffalo 7:00 PM

NOVEMBER
Thu. Nov. 01 At Toronto 7:00 PM (CBC, NHL Network)
Fri. Nov. 02 At Washington 7:00 PM
Tue. Nov. 06 Minnesota 7:00 PM
Thu. Nov. 08 At Tampa Bay 7:30 PM
Sat. Nov. 10 At Florida 7:30 PM
Wed. Nov. 14 At Ottawa 7:00 PM (TSN)
Thu. Nov. 15 Colorado 7:00 PM
Sat. Nov. 17 Winnipeg 7:00 PM (CBC)
Wed. Nov. 21 At N.Y. Islanders 7:00 PM
Fri. Nov. 23 N.Y. Rangers 1:00 PM (NBC, TSN)
Sat. Nov. 24 Pittsburgh 7:00 PM (NHL Network)
Tue. Nov. 27 New Jersey 7:00 PM (NBC Sports Network non-exclusive, TSN2)
Thu. Nov. 29 Carolina 7:00 PM

DECEMBER
Sat. Dec. 01 Buffalo 7:00 PM (NHL Network)
Mon. Dec. 03 Phoenix 7:00 PM
Wed. Dec. 05 At Winnipeg 7:00 PM (TSN)
Sat. Dec. 08 At Toronto 7:00 PM (CBC, NHL Network)
Mon. Dec. 10 At Detroit 7:30 PM (NBC Sports Network non-exclusive, TSN2)
Tue. Dec. 11 Tampa Bay 7:00 PM
Thu. Dec. 13 Pittsburgh 7:00 PM (NHL Network)
Sat. Dec. 15 Florida 7:00 PM
Mon. Dec. 17 Los Angeles 7:00 PM
Thu. Dec. 20 Winnipeg 7:00 PM
Sat. Dec. 22 Washington 1:00 PM (NHL Network)
Wed. Dec. 26 Ottawa 7:00 PM (TSN)
Sat. Dec 29 At Vancouver 7:00 PM (CBC)
Mon. Dec. 31 At Calgary 7:00 PM

JANUARY
Wed. Jan. 02 At Edmonton 8:00 PM
Sat. Jan. 05 Ottawa 1:00 PM
Tue. Jan. 08 At Ottawa 7:30 PM
Wed. Jan. 09 At Buffalo 7:30 PM (NBC Sports Network, TSN2)
Sat. Jan. 12 Chicago 1:00 PM (NHL Network)
Sun. Jan. 13 At N.Y. Rangers 7:30 PM (NBC Sports Network, TSN2)
Tue. Jan. 15 New Jersey 7:00 PM
Thu. Jan. 17 At Ottawa 7:30 PM
Sat. Jan. 19 At Montreal 7:00 PM (CBC, RDS, NHL Network)
Mon. Jan. 21 Toronto 1:00 PM
Tue. Jan. 22 At N.Y. Rangers 7:00 PM
Tue. Jan. 29 St. Louis 7:00 PM (NBC Sports Network, TSN)
Thu. Jan. 31 At San Jose 7:30 PM

FEBRUARY
Sat. Feb. 02 At Phoenix 6:00 PM
Mon. Feb. 04 At Colorado 7:00 PM (NBC Sports Network, TSN2)
Wed. Feb. 06 Buffalo 7:30 PM (NBC Sports Network, TSN2)
Fri. Feb. 08 At Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. Feb. 09 N.Y. Rangers 7:00 PM (NHL Network)
Tue. Feb. 12 Toronto 7:00 PM
Fri. Feb. 15 At Carolina 7:00 PM
Sun. Feb. 17 At Chicago 6:30 PM (NBC, TSN2)
Mon. Feb. 18 At Nashville 5:00 PM
Thu. Feb. 21 At Tampa Bay 7:30 PM (NHL Network)
Sun. Feb. 24 At Florida 6:00 PM
Tue. Feb. 26 At Carolina 7:00 PM
Thu. Feb 28 At Montreal 7:30 PM (RDS)

MARCH
Sat. Mar. 02 Tampa Bay 1:00 PM
Mon. Mar. 04 Montreal 7:00 PM (NBC Sports Network non-exclusive, TSN, RDS)
Tue. Mar. 05 At N.Y. Islanders 7:00 PM
Sat. Mar. 09 Philadelphia 1:00 PM (NHL Network)
Sun. Mar. 10 At Washington 7:30 PM (NBCNBC Sports Network Flex, TSN2)
Thu. Mar. 14 Florida 7:00 PM
Sat. Mar. 16 Washington 1:00 PM (NHL Network)
Sun. Mar. 17 At Pittsburgh 7:30 PM (NBCNBC Sports Network Flex)
Tue. Mar. 19 At Winnipeg 7:00 PM
Sat. Mar. 23 At Toronto 7:00 PM (CBC, NHL Network)
Mon. Mar. 25 Toronto 7:00 PM (TSN)
Wed. Mar. 27 Montreal 7:00 PM (NBC Sports Network, TSN, RDS)
Sat. Mar. 30 Philadelphia 1:00 PM (NHL Network)
Sun. Mar. 31 At Philadelphia 7:30 PM (NBC Sports NetworkNBC Flex)

APRIL
Tue. Apr. 02 Ottawa 7:00 PM
Thu. Apr. 04 Columbus 7:00 PM
Fri. Apr. 05 At Pittsburgh 7:00 PM (NHL Network)
Wed. Apr. 10 At New Jersey 7:30 PM (NBC Sports Network, TSN2)
Thu. Apr. 11 N.Y. Islanders 7:00 PM
Sat. Apr. 13 At Buffalo 7:30 PM (NBCNBC Sports Network Flex non-exclusive)

Bruins assign Noel Acciari to Providence

Bruins assign Noel Acciari to Providence

After sitting out the last month with a lower body injury, Bruins fourth liner Noel Acciari has been assigned to Providence presumably to get up to speed after missing a considerable length of time. It also means that Acciari has likely been cleared medically to play after appearing in B's practice over the last few days after missing the last 14 games. 

The 24-year-old former Providence College standout has appeared in 12 games with the Bruins this season after breaking camp with the team, and recorded two assists for two points with four penalty minutes and a plus-one rating before suffering a lower body injury.

By all accounts Acciari was a good energy player on a surprisingly good fourth line to start the season, wasn’t afraid to throw around his body for impactful hits and was having plenty of success aggravating opponents into losing their cool and taking penalties. Fellow rookie forward Anton Blidh has stepped in and played a similar role on the fourth line over the last couple of games for the Black and Gold, so that gives the Bruins plenty of time to get Acciari back up to speed at the AHL level without their fourth line’s level of play dropping in the meantime.

The Acciari demotion to Providence does mean that the Bruins head into Washington with 12 forwards, so it should again be Blidh, Dominic Moore and Jimmy Hayes as the fourth line barring any last minute wrinkles from Claude Julien.