Bergeron wins King Clancy, edged for Selke

Bergeron wins King Clancy, edged for Selke
June 14, 2013, 9:00 pm
Share This Post

CHICAGO – Patrice Bergeron won an NHL award during Friday afternoon’s public presentation of the annual individual award winners, but it’s not the one that everybody had him pegged to capture.

The Bruins pivot was named the King Clancy Trophy winner for his leadership and humanitarian endeavors, but finished second in the Selke Trophy voting to the winner in Chicago Blackhawks center Jonathan Toews.

“It’s a huge honor. Anytime you can help out in the community it’s something, it’s something that speaks to me and something that I want to do,” said Bergeron. “I like to lead by example, and just work as hard as I can on and off the ice. I want to help whoever I can by showing my example, and how hard I work on the ice. I’ll also speak up whenever there’s time to, and I feel like there’s a need to do that.

“Obviously you learn and get some experience as the years go on, and that’s how you become a better leader. Guys like Martin Lapointe in my first year and Mark Recchi in the last few years, they treated me great and showed what it means to really be a leader. Now I just try to be myself, and speak from the heart when I feel like there's a need to.”

Bergeron won his first Selke Trophy last season, given to the “forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game” as voted by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, and actually finished with three more first place votes for the award than Toews did.

But Bergeron (1,250 points) was 10 points behind Toews (1,260 points) in the total tally, and had three fewer PHWA voters that placed him on their top five ballots despite only being on the ice for 13 even strength goals this season. Bergeron also led the NHL in face-off win percentage with a 61.2 percent success rate, and took by far the most draws of any player in the running for the award.

Clearly Toews was also deserving while playing for the NHL’s second best defensive team during the regular season: he finished third in the NHL in plus-minus with a career-high +28 rating, including a League-leading +21 away from home; shared the overall lead in takeaways with fellow Selke finalist Pavel Datsyuk (56); placed second behind Bergeron with a 59.9 percent success rate, and played an average of 1:25 per game on the NHL's third-ranked penalty-killing unit (87.2%).

The one head-scratcher about the voting process is the fact that Toews received 167 total top 5 votes for Selke, and Bergeron received only 164 total votes as the reigning Selke winner coming off a second straight dominant defensive season. It raises questions about the three votes for Toews that weren’t also cast for Bergeron as well, but alas the only individuals that know the identity of those voters is the Ernst and Young employees hired by the NHL to tabulate the votes.

Bruins forwards Daniel Paille, Brad Marchand and Tyler Seguin also received votes for the award given to the best defensive forward in the NHL.
2012-2013 Frank J. Selke Trophy Voting


Pts.    1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th

1. Jonathan Toews, CHI 1260  (75-51-20-16-5)

2. Patrice Bergeron, BOS     1250  (78-44-24-12-6)

3. Pavel Datsyuk, DET  737   (8-37-58-31-15)

4. Anze Kopitar, L.A.  266   (4-7-19-25-7)

5. David Backes, STL   240   (3-10-12-17-29)

6. Jay McClement, TOR  142   (4-2-7-13-14)

7. Pascal Dupuis, PIT  111   (4-3-5-6-7)

8. Ryan Callahan, NYR  101   (1-3-6-8-16)

9. Derek Stepan, NYR   98    (1-2-5-14-7)

10. Marian Hossa, CHI   78    (1-4-3-4-13)

11. Frans Nielsen, NYI  46    (0-4-1-3-4)

12. Boyd Gordon, PHX    32    (0-2-1-2-7)

13. Chris Kunitz, PIT   26    (0-1-3-1-1)

14. Henrik Zetterberg, DET    23    (0-1-3-0-1)

15. Sidney Crosby, PIT  21    (0-1-2-1-1)

16. Eric Staal, CAR     19    (0-0-1-2-8)

17. Mikko Koivu, MIN    17    (0-1-1-1-2)

18. Ryan Getzlaf, ANA   16    (0-0-1-3-2)

19. Logan Couture, S.J. 14    (0-0-1-1-6)

20. Andrew Ladd, WPG    13    (0-1-0-1-3)

21. Matt Duchene, COL   13    (0-0-2-1-0)

22. Alex Burrows, VAN   9     (0-0-0-2-3)

23. Nicklas Backstrom, WSH    8     (0-1-0-0-1)

24. Henrik Sedin, VAN   8     (0-0-0-2-2)

25. Michael Frolik, CHI 7     (0-1-0-0-0)

Adam Henrique, N.J.     7 (0-1-0-0-0)

Patrick Kane, CHI       7 (0-1-0-0-0)

John Tavares, NYI       7 (0-1-0-0-0)

29. Jordan Staal, CAR   7     (0-0-1-0-2)

30. Marcus Kruger, CHI  6     (0-0-1-0-1)

31. Bryan Little, WPG   6     (0-0-0-2-0)

Jason Pominville, MIN   6 (0-0-0-2-0)

33. Ryan O'Reilly, COL  5     (0-0-1-0-0)

Brandon Prust, MTL      5 (0-0-1-0-0)

35. Saku Koivu, ANA     4     (0-0-0-1-1)

Maxime Talbot, PHI      4 (0-0-0-1-1)

Jiri Tlusty, CAR        4 (0-0-0-1-1)

38. Ruslan Fedotenko, PHI     3     (0-0-0-1-0)

Nazem Kadri, TOR        3 (0-0-0-1-0)

Ilya Kovalchuk, N.J.    3 (0-0-0-1-0)

Mike Richards, L.A.     3 (0-0-0-1-0)

Tyler Seguin, BOS       3 (0-0-0-1-0)

43. Tyler Bozak, TOR    2     (0-0-0-0-2)

Brad Marchand, BOS      2 (0-0-0-0-2)

45. Eric Fehr, WSH      1     (0-0-0-0-1)

Ryan Johansen, CBJ      1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Steve Ott, BUF          1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Daniel Paille, BOS      1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Zach Parise, MIN        1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Joe Pavelski, S.J.      1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Jarret Stoll, L.A.      1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Nate Thompson, T.B.     1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Joe Thornton, S.J.      1 (0-0-0-0-1)