BC wins 4th straight Beanpot, 6-3 over Northeastern


BC wins 4th straight Beanpot, 6-3 over Northeastern

By Jimmy Golen, AP Sports Writer

BOSTON (AP) When goalie Parker Milner arrived at Boston College, crosstown rival Boston University was the defending NCAA and Beanpot champion and had earned the area's college hockey bragging rights in 12 of the previous 15 years.

The 61-year-old Beanpot trophy soon relocated to Chestnut Hill.

And this group of BC seniors isn't ready to let it go.

"What coach (Jerry) York is building here is just going to keep moving forward," Milner said after No. 4 Boston College beat Northeastern 6-3 on Monday night to earn its fourth consecutive Beanpot title.

Already the defending national champions the Eagles have won three of the last five NCAA titles this class of BC seniors is the first in school history to go unbeaten in the Beanpot.

"We're all so excited. This is awesome for us," said forward Steven Whitney, a senior whose goal with 0.4 seconds left in the second period gave the Eagles a 4-1 lead. "But it's also awesome that the freshmen got a Beanpot and we gave everyone else a chance to win four in a row, too."

Johnny Gaudreau scored twice and Milner stopped 20 shots for BC (17-7-2). Milner, the most outstanding player from last year's NCAA Frozen Four, received the Eberly Award as the Beanpot's best goaltender.

Kevin Roy, who had a hat trick in Northeastern's first-round victory over BU, had a pair of goals for the Huskies (8-14-3). Roy was named the tournament's most outstanding player the first player from a losing team to earn the honor since BU's Sean Fields won his second in 2004.

Chris Rawlings made 24 saves for Northeastern, which surprised Boston University in the first round by sending the Terriers to the consolation game, where they've played just four times in 30 years.

Harvard (6-15-2) beat No. 13 Boston University (13-12-1) in the consolation game 7-4 earlier Monday.

Boston College fans chanted "Four more years!" as the final seconds ticked off the clock, and then threw red and yellow streamers toward the ice as the Eagles spilled out of their bench for the now-familiar celebration.

Bill Arnold and Patrick Brown also scored for BC. Whitney gave BC a three-goal lead, then Northeastern made it a one-goal game when Roy scored just 11 seconds into the third period and Braden Pimm added another less than four minutes later.

But Eagles defenseman Michael Matheson stickhandled through the middle, drawing the defense to him before backhanding it by Gaudreau to make it 5-3 with 5:23 left. Pat Mullane added an empty-netter with 88 seconds left.

"When you win four in a row and you've won three national championships, that brings in a lot of poise," Northeastern coach Jim Madigan said. "They're skilled, they're smart, but they also have a lot of poise."

Northeastern has not won the tournament since 1988 the longest losing streak of the area's four college hockey powers. Harvard last won in 1993, and BU won its unprecedented 29th Beanpot in 2009 before BC went on its current run.

BC beat Harvard 4-1 in the first round and Northeastern beat BU 3-2.

Roy was denied another hat trick when Milner stopped him on a second-period breakaway. The BC goalie also protected a 4-3 lead midway through the third by poking the puck away from Roy, who was alone in front of the net.

"We were really close to getting back," Roy said. "We couldn't tie it 4-4, but we had a lot of good chances."

Bruins' 2017-18 schedule has three Habs games in eight days

Bruins' 2017-18 schedule has three Habs games in eight days

The Bruins released their schedule for the 2017-18 season Thursday, with their campaign beginning at TD Garden on Oct. 5 against the Predators. 

Two things stand out in Boston’s schedule. Eleven of their final 15 games are on the road, and they don’t play the Canadiens until mid-January.  

Then, when the B’s and Habs do finally meet, they play three times in an eight-day span. The rivals face each other Jan. 13 in Montreal, Jan. 17 in Boston and Jan. 20 in Montreal. The Bruins’ final regular-season meeting with the Habs is March 3. 

To see the full schedule, click here. 

Morning Skate: How Haggs voted for the NHL Awards

Morning Skate: How Haggs voted for the NHL Awards

Here are all the links from around the hockey world and my ballot from last night’s NHL Awards now that the results are in. I can confirm I was not the one person to give Torey Krug a Norris Trophy vote despite what the unwashed masses in Ottawa choose to believe. Also, I did not throw a first-place vote to Brad Marchand in Hart Trophy voting. Still, I think it’s a safe bet that the same person did both.

Anyway, on to my ballot with a brief explanation for each of the votes:

Hart Trophy

1. Connor McDavid

2. Sidney Crosby

3. Brent Burns

4. Patrick Kane

5. Brad Marchand

McDavid was the obvious MVP as he helped lift the Oilers into the playoffs, and was the only guy in the NHL to hit 100 points this past season. In hindsight, I should have included Sergei Bobrovsky and omitted Patrick Kane from the list and always have a difficult time determining when a season from a goalie is or isn’t Hart-worthy. But I certainly feel good about throwing a fifth-place vote to Marchand after a phenomenal season for the B’s.

Norris Trophy:

1. Brent Burns

2. Erik Karlsson

3. Victor Hedman

4. Duncan Keith

5. Zach Werenski

Burns had such a transcendent offensive season for the Sharks and I like the fact that he can play a physical game as well as roaming around creating offense. That being said, it would have been an easy first place vote for Karlsson if the playoffs were included along with the regular season. The fifth place vote was the only one I really had to think hard and long about but felt like Werenski really played a big role in the Columbus turnaround this season.

Calder Trophy

1. Auston Matthews

2. Zach Werenski

3. Patrik Laine

4. William Nylander

5. Matt Murray

Plenty of good rookies to choose from in the voting, but it was fairly easy to choose Matthews as a dominant force for a Leafs team on the upswing. 40 goals as a 19-year-old rookie is a ridiculous amount of goals.

Lady Byng

1.  Oscar Klefbom

2.  Johnny Gaudreau

3.  Brandon Saad

4.  Marian Hossa

5.  Marcus Johansson

My votes are usually all over the map for Lady Byng, but Klefbom and Gaudreau were both solid picks as the top two. Gaudreau finished with 60 plus points and just four penalty minutes, and that’s pretty tough to do.

Selke Trophy

1. Bergeron

2. Kesler

3. Koivu

4. O’Reilly

5. Toews

All Bergeron all the way and there was a wide margin between him and second place. The fact he managed to play at a Selke level while also being hurt the entire season just adds to the toughness factor for the best two-way player I’ve covered in my time in Boston.   

On to the links...

*FOH (Friend of Haggs) Chris Johnston has the Golden Knights ready to take their first step toward contending after building their team, and their coffers, at the expansion draft.

*We’ll see how history views this trade a year or two down the line, but the Islanders definitely got a lot better with Jordan Eberle joining John Tavares in Brooklyn next season.

*Fresh off his Norris Trophy win, bearded Brent Burns was mistaken for a swashbuckling pirate on a visit to Disney.

*Reilly Smith is on the move again, this time to the Vegas Golden Knights, and the word on the street was that Boston inquired about bringing him back if the Panthers were willing to take Jimmy Hayes back. Don’t think it was much of a conversation. I guess there really is no trade-backesies in the NHL.

*PHT writer Cam Tucker has the Nashville Predators pretty busted up after losing James Neal in the expansion draft.

*For something completely different: Ron Howard is taking over directing the standalone Han Solo movie, and I’ve got to say that I don’t hate this.