Red Sox announce winners of Minor League awards

Red Sox announce winners of Minor League awards
September 21, 2013, 5:30 pm
Share This Post

In an announcement on Twitter, the Red Sox revealed the recipients of the organization's 2013 Minor League Awards.

21-year-old Henry Owens has won the Red Sox Minor League Pitcher of the Year Award.  

The left-hander went 3-1 with a 1.78 ERA after being called up to Double-A Portland this season.

Second baseman Mookie Betts won the Minor League Offensive Player of the Year.

The 20-year-old hit .341 with 7 home runs and 39 RBI for the Salem Red Sox.

Rounding out the awards: catcher Blake Swihart won the Defensive Player of the Year, Deven Marrero won the Baserunner of the Year, Dedgar Jiminez won the Latin Pitcher of the Year, and Victor Acosta won the Latin Hitter of the Year Award.

The players will be formally announced in a pre-game ceremony before Saturday night's game against the Blue Jays.