No Gold Gloves for Sox; Reddick earns one at RF

No Gold Gloves for Sox; Reddick earns one at RF
October 31, 2012, 3:37 am
Share This Post

The Red Sox were shutout in their quest for Gold Glove awards. Second baseman Dustin Pedroia and Adrian Gonzalez, now with the Dodgers but representing the Sox at first base, were the only Red Sox players under consideration.

Pedroia lost out to the Yankees Robinson Cano, who also beat out Seattles Dustin Ackley, while Gonzalez was beaten out by the Yankees Mark Teixeira, who also beat Kansas Citys Eric Hosmer.

Both Pedroia and Gonzalez won the awards with the Red Sox last season, along with center fielder Jacoby Ellsbury. Pedroia also won in 2008. Gonzalez also won in 2008 and 2009 with the Padres.

Four former Sox players were among the finalists at their positions, including Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre and left fielder David Murphy, As right fielder Josh Reddick, and right-hander Bronson Arroyo, of the Reds, who led all teams with six finalists. Beltre won his fourth Gold Glove, while Reddick won his first.

What a HUGE honor to be a gold glover. Much credit to the Oakland Athletics for the opportunity to play every day!!! blessed, Reddick tweeted.

The Orioles led all team with three winners catcher Matt Wieters, shortstop, J.J. Hardy, and center fielder Adam Jones.

The winners, announced Tuesday night, are determined by a vote from each manager and up to six coaches on each staff. Voters cannot vote for players on their own teams.

The complete list of winners:

American League
P Jeremy Hellickson, Rays
Jake Peavy, White Sox
C Matt Wieters, Orioles
1B Mark Teixeira, Yankees
2B Robinson Cano, Yankees
3B Adrian Beltre, Rangers
SS J.J. Hardy, Orioles
LF Alex Gordon, Royals
CF Adam Jones, Orioles
RF Josh Reddick, As

National League
P Mark Buehrle, Marlins
C Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B Adam LaRoche, Nationals
2B Darwin Barney, Cubs
3B Chase Headley, Padres
SS Jimmy Rollins, Phillies
LF Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies
CF Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
RF Jason Heyward, Braves