NHL schedule released; B's to open Saturday at home vs. Rangers

840305.jpg

NHL schedule released; B's to open Saturday at home vs. Rangers

The NHL -- at last -- released its 2012-13 schedule late Saturday night and, as expected, the Bruins will open at home next Saturday night, Jan. 19, against the Rangers. That game will be followed by a 1 p.m. matinee against the Jets on Martin Luther King Day, Jan. 21.

The full 48-game schedule will take place over the course of 96 days, from Saturday, Jan. 19 through Saturday, April 27. The Bruins will play five games each against their Northeast Division rival Senators and Sabres, and and four games each against the Maple Leafs and Canadiens. They will also play three games against each of the Atlantic and Southeast Division teams.

There had been much public speculation that teams would play seven games against each of their division rivals and one game each against all other teams in their conference, but that proved not to be the case. However, teams will play no out-of-conference games, as had also been speculated.

The complete Bruins' schedule:

Saturday, January 19 -- N.Y. Rangers, 7 p.m.
Monday, January 21 -- Winnipeg, 1 p.m.
Wednesday, January 23 -- at N.Y. Rangers, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, January 25 -- N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.
Monday, January 28 -- at Carolina, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, January 29 -- New Jersey, 7 p.m.
Thursday, January 31 -- Buffalo, 7 p.m.

Saturday, February 2 -- at Toronto, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, February 6 -- at Montreal, 7 p.m.
Saturday, February 9 -- Tampa Bay, 1 p.m.
Sunday, February 10 -- at Buffalo, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, February 12 -- N.Y. Rangers, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, February 15 -- at Buffalo, 7 p.m.
Sunday, February 17 -- at Winnipeg, 2 p.m.
Thursday, February 21 -- at Tampa Bay, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 24 -- at Florida, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, February 26 -- at N.Y. Islanders, 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, February 28 -- Ottawa, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 2 -- Tampa Bay, 1 p.m.
Sunday, March 3 -- Montreal, 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 5 -- at Washington, 7 p.m.
Thursday, March 7 -- Toronto, 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 9 -- Philadelphia, 1 p.m.
Monday, March 11 -- at Ottawa, 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 12 -- at Pittsburgh, 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 14 -- Florida, 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 16 -- Washington, 1 p.m.
Sunday, March 17 -- at Pittsburgh, 12:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 19 -- at Winnipeg, 7 p.m.
Thursday, March 21 -- at Ottawa, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 23 -- at Toronto, 7 p.m.
Monday, March 25 -- Toronto, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, March 27 -- Montreal, 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 30 -- at Philadelphia, 1 p.m.
Sunday, March 31 -- at Buffalo, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, April 2 -- Ottawa, 7 p.m.
Thursday, April 4 -- New Jersey, 7 p.m.
Saturday, April 6 -- at Montreal, 7 p.m.
Monday, April 8 -- Carolina, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, April 10 -- at New Jersey, 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 11 -- N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.
Saturday, April 13 -- at Carolina, 7 p.m.
Monday, April 15 -- Ottawa, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, April 17 -- Buffalo, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, April 19 -- Pittsburgh, 7 p.m.
Sunday, April 21 -- Florida, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 23 -- at Philadelphia, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 27 -- at Washington, 7 p.m.

Syracuse uses late 99-yard drive to beat UConn, 31-24

syracuse_uconn.jpg

Syracuse uses late 99-yard drive to beat UConn, 31-24

EAST HARTFORD, Conn. - Syracuse receiver Amba Etta-Tawo is making the most of his final year of college eligibility.

The graduate transfer from Maryland caught 12 passes for a school-record 270 yards and two touchdowns and the Orange beat UConn 31-24 on Saturday to snap a two-game losing skid.

Etta-Tawo scored twice in the game's first five minutes on touchdown receptions of 57 and 30 yards. His 59-yard catch from the shadow of his team's goal line highlighted a 12-play 99-yard fourth-quarter drive that put the game away for the Orange (2-2).

It was his fourth straight game with at least 100 yards receiving.

"It goes back to chemistry with the quarterback and the coaches trusting me," Etta-Tawo said. "They trust that I'll make the plays and they keep on giving me opportunities to make the plays."

Syracuse quarterback Eric Dungey completed 26 of 40 passes for 407 yards and those two scores. He also scored on a 6-yard run to complete the length-of the field drive.

"We had to do it," said Etta-Tawo. "We had to drive down the field and try to put the game out, and that's exactly what we did. Everybody dug in, dug a little deeper."

Noel Thomas had 14 receptions for 111 yards for UConn (2-2). Huskies running back Arkeel Newsome ran for 81 yards and a touchdown.

It took Syracuse just 51 seconds on its first drive and 92 seconds on its second for Dungey and Etta-Tawo to make it 14-0. Etta-Tawo had five catches for 115 yards in the first quarter.

"I think he's already passed his previous career high as a collegian in the first four games with us, (more than) his whole entire career he had at the other school," coach Dino Babers said. "I think, if you asked him, I think he might have made a good choice (to transfer)."

The Huskies responded by scoring twice in the second quarter and for the second straight week, the Orange couldn't hold the early double-digit lead.

"We can't just go up 14-0, 17-0 in the beginning of the game and then put ourselves back in a dog fight," said linebacker Zaire Franklin, who was in on 14 tackles. "Some of these games we've got to have it over by the beginning of the second quarter."

Cordell Hudson pickup off a tipped pass from UConn quarterback Bryant Shirreffs and ran 22-yards down the left sideline for a touchdown that gave the Orange a 24-17 lead. It was just the second interception for the Orange this season.

The Huskies had a chance to tie the game in the fourth quarter after holder Tyler Davis, a former high school quarterback, hit tight end Tommy Myers with a 17-yard pass on a fake field goal to set the Huskies up at the Syracuse 8-yard line.

But Syracuse's defense held, and linebacker Franklin stopped Shirreffs on a fourth-and goal from the 2-yard line with just over 6 minutes left. The Orange marched the length of the field to put the game away.

"Going back, I would probably buy some more time and throw it to the back of the end zone," said Shirreffs, who threw a 24-yard touchdown to Davis with 33 seconds left to make the final score close. "I came up short. The linebacker made a good play and I didn't."

Miss St turns it on in 2nd half to beat UMass, 47-35

umass_miss.jpg

Miss St turns it on in 2nd half to beat UMass, 47-35

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - Aeris Williams ran for a 16-yard touchdown and Jamoral Graham returned an interception 38 yards for a score on the next play from scrimmage to help Mississippi State erase a third-quarter deficit and beat Massachusetts 47-35 on Saturday.

The two scores 17 seconds apart were followed four minutes later by a 13-yard touchdown pass from Nick Fitzgerald to Farrod Green that made it 41-21 just before the end of the third quarter.

Fitzgerald completed 25 of 38 passes for 299 yards and three touchdowns, and he also ran for 110 yards for the Bulldogs (2-2). Fred Ross caught eight passes for 126 yards and two touchdowns for Mississippi State, which once again struggled to play well for two halves in a row.

Andrew Ford, making his second start for the injured Ross Comis, completed 24 of 40 passes for 273 yards and four touchdowns for UMass (1-3). But he also overthrew his receiver on the first play after Mississippi State's go-ahead touchdown, and Graham was there to make it 34-21.

UMass failed to move on its next possession and punted it back to the Bulldogs, who took over on their own 39-yard line. Fitzgerald went 3 for 3 on the drive and also added a 15-yard run as Mississippi State converted its third touchdown in 4 minutes, 11 seconds.

The Bulldogs are coming off a loss to then-No. 20 LSU in which they rallied from a 20-0 deficit only to lose 23-20. They also led South Alabama 17-0 at halftime in their opener but lost 21-20. Against South Carolina, Mississippi State led 24-0 at halftime before holding on for a 27-14 win.

Marquis Young ran for 125 yards, including an 83-yard touchdown in the first quarter that gave UMass a 7-3 lead. Jalen Williams caught two touchdown passes, and Bernard Davis and Sadiq Palmer each had one for the Minutemen.