BC, Yale earn top seeds in NCAA hockey

BC, Yale earn top seeds in NCAA hockey
March 20, 2011, 4:13 pm
Share This Post

Two New England teams -- Boston College and Yale -- earned top seeds, and two other N.E. schools earned at-large berths for the NCAA hockey tournament.

Seedings and pairings were announced Sunday morning.

The Bulldogs, winners of the ECAC championship, are the No. 1 seed in the East regional and will play No. 4 Air Force on Friday at Bridgeport, Conn. Union and Minnesota-Duluth are the other schools in the regional.

BC is the No. 1 seed in the West Regional, and the Hockey East champions will play No. 4 Colorado College Friday in St. Louis. Other schools in that regional: Michigan and Nebraska-Omaha.

The other two England schools will compete in the Northeast Regional in Manchester, N.H. The host school, New Hampshire, will face No. 1 seed Miami of Ohio, and No. 2 Merrimack will play No. 3 Notre Dame. Those games are on Saturday.

The four schools in the Midwest Regional, which will be played in Green Bay, are North Dakota, Denver, Western Michigan and RPI.

The winners of the regionals will advance to the Frozen Four in St. Paul, Minn., on April 7 and 9.